AN ODE TO MY MOTHER (AND TO ALL MOMS OUT THERE)

I Love Mom_172388024Written by Sarah Lechinskov (a Sutton Prestige member). Dedicated to her mother.

When I forced my mom to sign up for Facebook last summer, I asked her all the standard “profile information” questions. “Are you interested in men or women?” I asked as my mom got dinner ready for my father.

“Women,” she said solemnly. “It’ll be a whole new life.”My mom never fails to leave me in hysterics. She is the master of deadpan.

During my “Mom Gets on Facebook Adventure”, it was a struggle, but I eventually convinced her to use a picture I took of her when she visited me in New York.

During this trip, my mom and I went to the Letterman show, and I held her hand as George Clooney dazzled the audience. Then we walked around the streets of New York with giddy excitement after, my arm looped through hers. Every step was an adventure.

We stumbled upon a man who held a kitten wearing an outfit sitting near some tie-dye purses, and my mom stopped to talk to him. “I just love your cat,” she said, then turned to me and said, “That’s my favourite thing I’ve seen in New York so far.”  Clooney on Letterman had nothing on that cat in the T-shirt.

She stills talks about it.

My mom often calls me at night, and within minutes of talking, she says like clockwork, “Well. I don’t have any news.” She does, however, have her own brand of interpreting the news, most of which comes from her watching TV on mute and reading the ticker. She finds it more pleasant that way. “What do you think of Kim Kardashian?” she’ll ask me. “I think I want to be more like her.”

My mom is 71.

Another time she was watching a VH1 special on Tupac and Biggie. “What’d you make of it?” I asked, curious to hear her take on the murderous feud. “Oh, well, as far as I could tell, it was a rap misunderstanding,” she said.

Nailed it.

When the dot-com boom happened in the early 2000s, my mom would always add “.com” randomly to conversations: “How are you doing dot com?” she would ask. At another point, she had big plans to name her cat “dot com,” but sadly, that never happened.

Emails from my mom are one of my favourite things in the world. Her first email password? “Ilovekids.”

Two years ago on my birthday, she wrote me: “Dear Sarah, I loved it when you were born — you were so big and healthy and loving (you talked to me when they brought you to me. You said ‘uhh. uhh.’) And I talked to you. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!”

mother-baby

I love my mom so much it makes me laugh and cry and feel alive all at the same time.

A shining example of what a mother should be:

  • You’re all things lovely.  Your beauty is like a spring flower in full bloom.
  • rock for those of us who rely on your strength.
  • The epitomy of simplicity and I know no one else who wears it as well as you do.
  • Your unspoken motto is family first; you’re loyal to those you love without being unreasonable.
  • Thank you for the times you’ve seen right through my “I’m right” attitude and for respectfully pointing out the error of my ways.
  • Never boastful, always quite content to let others shine. You’re a listener and not a talker. It’s part of what draws people to you – you’re a wellspring of other people’s secrets but they go no further. Trustworthiness and integrity are my biggest aspirations because, by example, you’ve taught me they’re the the best qualities a person can possess.
  • A mother, friend, cheerleader, counsellor, therapist all rolled into one and each day I learn from you.  And if people were to ever say, “You’ve turned into your mother”  it would be all right by me. Thank you!

What do you love most about your mom? Does she send you the world’s best emails too? Are you doing anything special for Mother’s Day? Send us your favourite mom story (communications@suttonplace.com), and we’ll compile an ‘ode to mom to be published on Mother’s Day!

mother_104242619

As a special treat for Mother’s Day, join us at either The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton or Vancouver for our famous Sunday Brunch buffet featuring our signature specialities, including an omelette station, prime rib, and much more!

The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Be sure to save room to indulge in our world-famous Chocoholic Buffet, returning for one day, just for Mom.

Available for groups of 4 or more only.
Versailles Ballroom
Sunday, May 11, 2014
Seatings: 10:30am & 12:30pm

$65.00 per Adult
$32.50 per Child
(ages 4 – 12)
Free for children under the age of 4

Call 604.642.2900 to make a reservation.

The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Grande Ballroom
Sunday, May 11, 2014
Seatings: 10:00am, 11:00am, 12:00pm & 12:30pm

$45.00 per Adult
$38.00 per Senior
$22.00 per Child (ages 5 – 12)
Free for children under the age of 5

For reservations, please contact: Meghan Ferguson 780.441.3011.

Leave a Reply

