We love you mom!

motherdaughterWhat would we be without our mothers? Mothers are the glue that holds a family together and the fine-tuned engine that keeps a family humming along smoothly. Mothers work a double shift between their “career jobs” and their “home jobs” — juggling their additional roles of family chauffeur, mediator in settling disputes over the remote control, food and beverage engineer, interior decorator, and academic counsellor, to name a few.

To honour the hard work that mothers give the world, some of our guests wrote us to share their love.

 

My Hands

handprint

Submitted by Donna Sawmill. She received this poem from her daughter last year.

Sometimes you get discouraged
Because I am so small.
And always leave my fingertips
On furniture and walls.
But everyday I’m growing
I’ll be grown someday.
And all those tiny handprints
Will simply fade away.
So here’s a final handprint
Just so you can recall.
Exactly how my fingers looked
When I was very small.

 

Written by Sandra Weibley

“My mother’s greatest gift is her unconditional love and her dedication. She has given up her career as an architect in order to take care of my brother, my father, and I. If I ever feel in need of her advice or a shoulder to cry on, she will always be on the other line. I have a mother who believes in me and who always wants the best for her family. A true lovely Latin mom, with fierce dance moves and even fiercer cooking. I love you mom.”

Written by Diana Linkloy

“My mother’s greatest gift is her selfless devotion to her family. She works hard to take care of four children, and still manages to look beautiful every day! She is such an inspiration.”

 

My mom is...

Submitted by Coral Klassen. She received this tribute from her son Jackson this year.

 

Written by Stephanie Slymourg

“Being a mother means blooming into wonderful, amazing people we couldn’t have become without first appreciating the landscape of raising our own children.
It means flowing with the seasons and accepting and embracing the changes as they smack us in the face like the hearty wind of a storm. Being a mother means simply letting the world wash over you, but not losing an ounce of your strength. It means allowing the hardships to shape you and smooth you out like a piece of sea glass destined to topple onto the shore with a shimmer and shine so beautiful you can’t help but pick it up and put it in your pocket.”

 

From all of us at The Sutton Place Hotels, Happy Mother’s Day to mothers all over the world. Thank you for your love.

Leave a Reply

